Championship Tennis Tours’ site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve the browsing experience, deliver personalized content, and allow us to analyze our traffic. To find out more or to opt-out, please read our Cookie Policy. In addition, please read our Privacy Policy, which was updated, effective May 23rd, 2018.
By clicking Accept, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies.
CTT Gift Certificates
Reserva en línea o llama al 00 (1) 480 429-7700 Officina en Arizona

Miami Open

17 mar 30 mar, 2025 | Miami, FL

Miami Open Tournament History

The event began in 1985 thanks to the efforts of Butch Buchholz, a former professional tennis player who has done countless work for the sport following his playing days.

Wanting to create a "Winter Wimbledon", Buchholz organized the first Miami Open tournament to include the referee from Wimbledon. Additionally, he was able to bring in many of the best tennis stars by offering a substantial pot of prize money that was only bested by the US Open and Wimbledon.

Throughout its history, Americans have dominated the singles tournament. Tim Mayotte won the first Miami Open, but legendary tennis star Andre Agassi has been the most impressive, winning the tournament 8 times between 1990 and 2003. Andy Roddick was the last American to win the title in 2010.

Sony Open changes its name to the Miami Open. Read more here.

Miami Open Location:
Played in Miami, the Miami Open basks in the warm spring sunshine of South Florida.

Miami Open Court:
The Miami Open is played at the Tennis Center at Crandon Park and uses a hard surface.

Miami Open Traditions:
  • The Miami Open has one of the largest fields of any major professional tournament and includes 96 men and 96 women.
  • The Miami Open has always been at the forefront of modern technology, with it being the first American tournament to adopt replays and challenges in 2006.
  • The Miami Open is also has a fun party atmosphere and a fashion show with famous DJ's on the center court!
Recent Historic Moments of the Miami Open:
Miami Open 2015
  • Novak Djokovic won his second straight (and third career) Miami Openin 2014, defeating Andy Murray in the final.
  • The Miami Open has been a trying place for Maria Sharapova, who has reached the final 4 times only to be denied, most recently in 2014. Spending several years growing up in Florida, she will surely want a victory near her home.
Defending Champions:
  • 2014 Men's Single: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014 Women's Single: Serena Williams
  • 2014 Men's Double: Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan
  • 2014 Women's Double: Martina Hingis, Sabine Lisicki
Past Champions:
  • 2013 Men's Single: Andy Murray
  • 2013 Women's Single: Serena Williams
  • 2013 Men's Double: Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi, Jean-Julien Rojer
  • 2013 Women's Double: Nadia Petrova, Katarina Srebotnik

  • 2012 Men's Single: Novak Djokovic
  • 2012 Women's Single: Agnieszka Radwanska
  • 2012 Men's Double: Leander Paes, Radek Stepanek
  • 2012 Women's Double: Maria Kirilenko, Nadia Petrova