Championship Tennis Tours’ site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve the browsing experience, deliver personalized content, and allow us to analyze our traffic. To find out more or to opt-out, please read our Cookie Policy. In addition, please read our Privacy Policy, which was updated, effective May 23rd, 2018.
By clicking Accept, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies.
CTT Gift Certificates
Book online or call 00 (1) 480 429-7700 Arizona Office

BNP Paribas Open

Mar 5 Mar 16, 2025 | Indian Wells, CA

BNP Paribas Tournament History

Originating in Tucson, Arizona in 1974, the BNP Paribas Open moved around several Southwest locations before settling down in Indian Wells, California. The first year saw a final between American tennis legend Arthur Ashe and Australian star John Newcombe. Although Newcombe won that match, many Americans have been able to claim the honor such as Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, and Andre Agassi.

The most exciting final occurred in 1991 when American Jim Courier defeated Guy Forget of France in a thrilling back and forth 5-set encounter that culminated in Courier winning a tiebreaker on the final set for the title. It was the first of two BNP Paribas Open Championships in Courier's career that included 4 Grand Slam victories.

BNP Paribas Open Location:
The BNP Paribas Open is played in the spectacular location of the Coachella Valley desert in Southern California.

BNP Paribas Open Court:
The BNP Paribas Open is held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The main stadium seats 16,000 spectators and is the second largest tennis stadium worldwide. The surface is hard court.

BNP Paribas Open Traditions:
  • The tournament is one of the largest worldwide and draws a field of 96 entrants in both Men's and Women's Single.
  • The BNP Paribas Open is the only tennis tournament worldwide to include replay technology in all the courts and use it for every match.
  • The Indian Wells Tennis Garden also serves as a concert venue with recent performances by The Eagles, Tom Petty, Andrea Bocelli, and Luciano Pavarotti.
Recent Historic Moments of the BNP Paribas Open:
  • Serena Williams returns to Indian Wells to end 14 year boycott.
  • Novak Djokovic overcame 17-time grand slam Champion Roger Federer in a thriller 2014 Men's Final match.
  • Italian Flavia Pennetta captured the biggest title of her career at the 2014 BNP Paribas Open.
  • Maria Sharapova trumps Caroline Wozniacki in less than 90 minutes, barely breaking a sweat to win her second BNP Paribas Open title at the 2013 Indian Wells tournament.
  • Rafa Nadal celebrates his 600th career win when capturing the 2013 BNP Paribas Open title.
  • Roger Federer beat John Isner for the title in 2012 and claimed his 4th BNP Paribas Open, more than any other competitor.
  • Maria Sharapova was denied a second BNP Paribas Open title in 2012 when she was defeated by Victoria Azarenka in straight sets.
Defending Champions:
  • 2014 Men's Single: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014 Women's Single: Flavia Pennetta
  • 2014 Men's Double: Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan
  • 2014 Women's Double: Peng Shuai & Hsieh Su-wei
Past Champions:
  • 2013 Men's Single: Rafael Nadal
  • 2013 Women's Single: Maria Sharapova
  • 2013 Men's Double: Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan
  • 2013 Women's Double: Ekaterina Makarova & Elena Vesnina

  • 2012 Men's Single: Roger Federer
  • 2012 Women's Single: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2012 Men's Double: Marc Lopez, Rafael Nadal
  • 2012 Women's Double: Liezel Huber, Lisa Raymond